Skip to content

Best laid plans, or advice to the over 40s

March 14, 2014

Those of you attending the Women in Archaeology Conference in York  http://www.yorkarchaeology.co.uk/about/wia_conf.html expecting to hear me speak are going to be disappointed. My paper will be there, my powerpoint presentation will be there, I won’t be. Instead I will be at home with a bag of frozen peas between my shoulder blades. I have spent a lot of the last week with my bag of frozen peas and many and varied painkillers. This has been as much fun as it sounds, although I have also discovered what I can and can’t do with a bad back, I can knit, I can read, I can provide a warm cushion for cats and small boys – provided they don’t move around too much. I can’t cook, write, or type for any length of time. Standing is bad, walking is variable, lying down – with my peas – is best.

And the advice? When you feel a nagging pain between your shoulder blades, don’t ignore it, don’t think ‘I am immortal, I am in fact a superhero and pain does not affect me’. This, my friends, is a very bad move. This leads you to sitting in the British Library wondering if you can get up from your chair without pitiful and embarrassing sobbing.

I shall put up Gabe’s post later today, in the meantime I’m going back to my peas.

Julia

Leave a Reply

