Skip to content

Housekeeping

April 4, 2014

Just to let you all know that the Women in Archaeology 2014 Conference is now available on-line, click on http://www.yorkarchaeology.co.uk/about/wia_conf.html and follow the links to youtube. I’m not sure if this is available worldwide or just to UK visitors – let me know if you have a problem and I’ll get in touch with the organisers and see what we can do. I have to confess (I’m bowing my head in shame here) that I haven’t watched it all so I don’t know if my paper was presented or just circulated, however, what I have seen makes fascinating viewing – Professor Dame Rosemary Cramp talking about her experiences, how can you miss out on that?

In 2 weeks time I’ll post the second part of my attempt to convince you all to read murder mysteries to learn about the history of archaeology. This week you get a far more interesting post – Amara Thornton of UCL explaining her involvement and interest in the history of archaeology. Like Gabe, Amara was one of the founder members of HARN and has organised several important HARN workshops – again it makes for interesting reading. Can I again ask (beg? plead?) for your contributions. Lets make this blog the discussion forum for the history of archaeology. So, if there’s anything you want to say, anything you want to raise, get in touch.

I won’t be posting next week, I’m away and have no idea if there will be internet access, plus all you’d get is the tale of my, no doubt, woeful attempt at skiing rather than anything archaeological.

Last, but not least, a warm welcome to Tomás Aguilera Durán our latest member, good to have you here Tomás.

Julia

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

