Skip to content

HARN WELCOMES NEW MEMBERS

April 11, 2014

HARN HAS A NEW MEMBER! PLEASE WELCOME

Katy Soar (katysoar@gmail.com) Open University

I received my PhD from the University of Nottingham in 2009, with a thesis entitled ‘An Archaeology of Minoan Performance’, and I am currently an Associate Lecturer and Honorary Research Associate at the Open University.

My PhD was on performative approaches to archaeological material from Minoan Crete, in which I explored the role of performance in the creation of social and political structures in Bronze Age Crete. Lately I have become particularly interested in the development of archaeological  and anthropological thinking during the 19th century, and how this affected both the practice and reception of archaeology. In relation to my earlier research, I am interested in how these developments, particularly those of the Cambridge Ritualists, affected the interpretation and reception of Minoan archaeology, and – again tied to my PhD research – how this was reflected in contemporary performance and art. I am also interested in how these developments were incorporated in late 19th century gothic and horror literature, particularly in the works of Arthur Machen.

Welcome and thank you for joining our community!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

