Skip to content

It’s beginning to feel a lot like Autumn

August 24, 2014

Summer appears to be over, at least in this corner of Britain, and we’re heading towards autumn far too quickly for my liking. Don’t get me wrong, I love autumn: the smell of blackberries and bonfires, the colours of the changing leaves, the chill in the morning and evening, the clear skies and sunshine. Because I’ve spent so much of my life in academia I don’t associate this time of year with melancholy, I see autumn as the New Year, it’s a time of beginnings as far as I’m concerned, of exciting opportunities and endless possibilities. I buy stationary and write timetables in coloured ink and make resolutions at this time of the year rather than at the beginning of January. But, at the risk of fulfilling a cultural stereotype here, I’m going to talk about the weather – it’s raining, it’s grey, windy and miserable* it should still be summer and this isn’t my idea of a decent autumn. I’m not impressed!

However, despite the sogginess, there are some exciting autumnal changes coming up. We’re launching Member of the Month in September, Sam Hardy has kindly agreed to be the first to do this and be our test monkey! Look out for his post, it will be fascinating since, as I’ve said before, his blog should be required reading for all archaeologists and politicians. And, do get involved, leave comments for him, for us, suggest other members we should approach for detailed profiles – I know I keep saying it, but this is your forum so tell us what you’d like to see here. On that note the book review went down well so we’ll be doing those as a regular feature, probably covering more recent articles and books though! Again, if there’s anything you’d particularly like to see reviewed – maybe your own article or book? – get in touch in the comments or by email.

The other – major – change is that I’m taking a month off. We’re welcoming a new family member this month and I’m taking September to settle her in, as I said, autumn is the time for new beginnings! However, the blog will continue under the expert guidance of Kate so I’m leaving you in very good hands.

Have a great September, see you in October when we’ll be in autumn proper and I’ll no doubt be wittering about seasons of mists and mellow fruitfulness

Julia

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

