Skip to content

Juggling

February 27, 2015
The Cat in the Hat copyright Dr Seuss

The Cat in the Hat copyright Dr Seuss

I have never been very good at juggling. When I was in Junior School (age 7 to 11) we would juggle 2 tennis balls against a wall, I could do that, but the dexterous girls (my sister for example) could do 3 or 4. If I tried it all went horribly wrong and got quite painful with balls ricocheting in all directions.

As a student juggling was very fashionable, mainly with those little sand filled balls, but the adventurous ones used trowels. I tried it but given I have very little hand-to-eye coordination you can imagine what happened. Thankfully no-one else got hurt!

So, juggling, it’s not my forte. Unfortunately, this week has been all about keeping various balls in the air.

Ball 1: We’re trying to sort out a venue for the HARN workshop, we have several possibilities but deciding which one to go with is difficult. Do we go for the expensive classy venue, or the cheaper option, less classy, still nice – obviously, we wouldn’t book a fleapit – but without the wow factor of some of the venues? How many people will we have as an audience? Are you coming?

Ball 2: The EAA. I’m organising a session and I need to sort various things out for this – you’d think I’d have realised that being an organiser might mean I had things to organise, but I’m a slow learner.

Ball 3: HARN matters. It’s Friday already, how the hell did that happen? I haven’t thought at all about this week’s post – it shows doesn’t it? I haven’t begun on the list of members’ locations and interests, how long ago was it that I announced that? Nor have I been in touch with any other members about doing an expanded profile for the blog ‘member of the month’ is turning into ‘occasional member, when I remember and am near a computer’.

Ball 4: Research. I really should be doing some, especially in view of the fact I’m speaking at the EAA session I’m organising.

Ball 5: Technically, for this year at least, I’m a stay-at-home-mum. That means I should be doing some mothering, I put the emphasis on the word ‘some’, unfortunately my children don’t agree – they see it more as my vocation, to be pursued around the clock every single day. The toddler in particular has decided that I should devote every minute to her and if I don’t she screams, kicks, turns purple and generally behaves how she did in the reference library*. This week she was to have her first full day at pre-school – she was home within 2 hours. In fact, I don’t think this one counts as a ball, it’s more like someone chucking a chainsaw into the mix.

There’s other stuff too, mainly domestic related and dull. I think what I’m trying to say is – I’m a bit distracted at the moment. Hopefully I’ll have a bit more time, inspiration and energy next week. In the meantime a question, it’s my sister’s birthday and this is her cake – do we think blue or brown eyes?

WP_20150227_15_37_32_Pro

WP_20150227_15_51_17_Pro

I think brown, the eight year old thinks blue, what do you think?

Have a great weekend

Julia

* We saw the librarian again this week, he’d obviously forgotten me but then he saw the toddler, he flinched, we left.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Gustavsson permalink
    February 27, 2015 5:43 pm

    Hi Julia!

    I would go for the blue eyes. Not as stylish as the brown ones, but it looks cheerful! 🙂

    And: Thank you for all the time and effort you put on HARN. I think 1-2 blogposts/month plus additional news if needed is more than enough. It is hard to juggle!!!

    Have a good weekend! Anna

  2. Kate Hill permalink
    February 27, 2015 7:34 pm

    Brown, definitely. Huge sympathy re the toddler, I had a difficult toddler, Well I say toddler, she was a complete nightmare from the second she turned 2 till about 6 months ago (she’s now 9). I occasionally get some work done now, with the help of too much television.

  3. harngroup permalink*
    February 28, 2015 5:43 pm

    Thank you Anna and Kate – I did wonder about one blue eye and one brown in a David Bowie style, but then gave up. I realised the 8 year old would be upset if I ignored his choice so I put the blue ones back – only slightly chocolatey – ate the brown ones and presented my – delighted – sister with her cake. The 8 year old is soon to be 9, he also wants a hedgehog cake but is thinking of ‘improvements’ that could be made . . .

Leave a Reply

