Skip to content

Gatherings

September 11, 2015

I’ve been trying to write an EAA post since I got back. And, it’s not just domestic stuff that keep interfering with the writing, I simply don’t know what to say. I’ve never been at such a huge conference before, I went to the Kraków EAA 6 or 7 years ago, but the Glasgow event was much bigger. I think it was just too big for me to get my head round. I have never seen so many archaeologists gathered together in one place! There were so many people, so many sessions, so many, many papers. When the abstract book is over 600 pages long you know you’re in for a big conference. My instinctive reaction at these points is to walk swiftly away in the opposite direction – which is why Thursday found me spending the morning wandering around the Botanic Gardens (the yarn shop was closed otherwise I’d have been there too) before going to collect Dr Sheltering Memory from Glasgow Central. This meant I missed the session on chickens, but it did mean the organisers didn’t have me talking ignorantly but enthusiastically about our much-loved hens.

Dolores and Hetty - what? Of course they have names, they're pets!

[Dolores and Hetty – what? Of course they have names, they’re pets!]

On Friday I got my act together and went to several sessions, doing that annoying conference thing of dropping in and out for certain papers. It was great, I heard some wonderful papers, saw some old friends and remembered that, actually, I don’t hate conferences – just in time for the session Kate, Ulf and I had organised for the Saturday afternoon. And that was great too, brilliant papers, lovely people, huge success despite being right at the very end of the conference. But, for the life of me I can’t think of anything else to say about it. I should tell you about the papers and I probably will over the coming weeks, but here and now I think Monica is right and I’m suffering from P.E.S.T. Rather than fight this I’ve decided to devote today to a different sort of gathering – the blackberries along the canal path are ripe, the sun is shining, my family are at preschool/school/work, I’m off to pick brambles and enjoy the peace.

Have a great weekend

Julia

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Gustavsson permalink
    September 11, 2015 11:27 am

    Thank You for the update and have a good weekend!

  2. Monica Barnes permalink
    September 14, 2015 4:59 pm

    I wondered if it was Julia who had been to the Yarn Cake Shop before me. “Another lady carrying one of those bags was here earlier” I was told.

    • harngroup permalink*
      September 16, 2015 8:19 am

      Monica, if they’d opened when they said they did it would have been me, but they didn’t and it wasn’t. I meant to go back but never got there. It looked lovely through the window so it’s probably just as well they were late opening that day!

      • Monica Barnes permalink
        September 16, 2015 12:04 pm

        It’s a pleasant, funky place with nice, eccentric people knitting, crocheting, chatting, and consuming cups of tea. I’d be afraid I would spill tea on someone else’s nearly finished sweater. They have some really rare (and pricey) yarns. Worth a detour as the old travel guides used to say.

Leave a Reply

