Skip to content

Of (door)Mice and (wo)Men

October 30, 2015

Originally this post was going to be called Here I Go Again because that’s the earworm of today. It’s been buzzing around all day and, while I could sing you most of it, I could not remember who sang it. I’ve just googled it. Oh dear. I tell you, growing up in a small town in North Wales had many (oh, so many) cultural disadvantages. So I’m going to pretend I’ve never listened to anyone with dodgy hair and over-tight trousers and instead go with Steinbeck and Lewis Carroll.

It’s definitely autumn here in North West Britain, the clocks have gone back and it’s dark by 5.30, that’s if it’s ever got properly light. This is having a very bad effect on my ability to stay awake – never one of my talents at the best of times, just ask Kate, Ulf or Jonty. Add in a small child who believes sleep is for the weak and this is the result:

Dormouse in the teapot, Mad Hatter's tea party from Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll window, Geoffrey Webb, 1934, All Saints Church, Daresbury, Cheshire, England. http://www.soniahalliday.com/category-view3.php?pri=732-9-77.jpg

Dormouse in the teapot, Mad Hatter’s tea party from Alice in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll window, Geoffrey Webb, 1934, All Saints Church, Daresbury, Cheshire, England. http://www.soniahalliday.com/category-view3.php?pri=732-9-77.jpg

And it’s half term. It never ceases to amaze me that my intellectual productivity grinds to a halt when my children are around all the time. Every holiday, weekend, inset day I am yet again astonished that I barely have a moment to myself and for the rare times I am alone (thank you oh great god television) I’m having a little lie down on the kitchen floor rather than thinking clever thoughts. You’d think by now I’d have learnt, that I’d plan ahead, be prepared, but no, every time I’m astonished. My powers of retention are definitely as wet as a warthog’s backside.

All of which is a very long winded way of telling you that there is no history of archaeology in my brain this week. This blog is empty of pertinent, apposite, scholarly material. Move along if you were looking for clever stuff, there’s nothing to see here.

But, if you want crafts – look no further! We have crafts aplenty, my week has been enormously productive in that aspect

Monster cakes

Monster cakes

.

Pom Pom hedgehog

Pom Pom hedgehog

Pumpkin carving

Pumpkin carving

Orange carving - so much easier than pumpkins!

Orange carving – so much easier than pumpkins!

MONSTER!

MONSTER!

Glove puppets - thank you Wilkinsons

Glove puppets – thank you Wilkinsons

Surreal puppet show
Which then led to a rather surreal puppet show -the 3 Little Pigs or 2 aliens and a frog (with a saucepan) outwit a rather dozy dog.

You may be able to guess what we’ve been reading from the following pictures – my son is a Lego genius.

Hagrid at Gringotts

Hagrid at Gringotts

Journey to the vault

Journey to the vaults

Approaching the vault

Approaching the vaults

The gate opens . . .

The gate opens . . .

Harry's vault

Harry’s vault

The Philosopher's Stone vault

Vault 713

The Philosopher's Stone

The Philosopher’s Stone!

And on that exciting note, I will wish you a restful weekend – I’m off to have a snooze

Julia

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathleen Sheppard permalink
    October 30, 2015 1:04 pm

    LOVE the puppets and the legos. Have a wonderful Halloween!

Leave a Reply

