Skip to content

What a week . . .

November 5, 2015

It all started quite quietly, if a little tiredly – thanks daughter, I love seeing each hour pass, grrrr – end of half-term, all back to normal and then just as I was about to post the about the Cambridge Personal Histories Project (I’ll come back to that) I spotted that Kate had a new post and went over to investigate. I reblogged her posts here because this is a subject that affects us all – research is our work, but it’s more than that, it’s the currency we parlay into grants, into employment, use to attain positions of authority, it’s how we are judged by fellow researchers, and, most importantly it’s an essential part of our identity. It’s where we state ‘this is what I’ve discovered’ but it’s also where we say ‘this is who I am, this is what I believe’. To find your research being used but not cited is to have all your hard work dismissed, all your ideas and creativity denied and undermined. Even when, as Kate points out, none of this was done intentionally. Thankfully this particular instance is being resolved, but, as the comments on Kate’s blog and twitter feed demonstrate, online plagiarism is obviously a big issue and one that’s going to have to be addressed.

With all of that going on I managed to forget I was going to post about the Cambridge Personal Histories – have I mentioned I’m not getting nearly enough sleep at the moment? Anyway, Pamela says ‘You will remember that over 500 former Archaeology and Anthropology undergraduates attended the wonderful occasion last February in Magdalene College, Cambridge http://www.arch.cam.ac.uk/about-us/personal-histories/events We are pleased to report that our first short film of the celebratory Centennial of “Arch & Anth” is now available on the University of Cambridge’s Streaming Media Service  <http://upload.sms.csx.cam.ac.uk/media/2100255>. And we will soon have 12 hours of editing film loaded on SMS so all may
watch short films of their favourite Centennial discussions and memories.’

Pamela also said ‘We invite you to join our next film-making workshop, 7th November, all day, this Saturday, in the Seminar Room of the McDonald Institute’. Please let Pamela know if you’d like to attend see her HARN entry for her email. And, please accept my apologies for not posting this sooner, lack of sleep is making me very stupid.

I did remember to post the flyer for Sudeshna Guha’s new book.That looks absolutely fascinating, Sudeshna says ‘It is a critical book, on why we need to think about how we choose to historicise archaeology, and is also a critique of the nationalist archaeology that is perpetuated by professional archaeologists of South Asia’. We are more than happy to publicise it here, as Sudeshna has rightly pointed out ‘so little research regarding the archaeologies of Asian worlds (apart from China) gets any ‘international’ press’. I’ll certainly be adding it to my list of wanted books and if anyone would like to review it for this website then let me know.

Talking of publications, Gabe Moshenska is offering pdfs of his work. I imagine his email has just crashed. While you’re waiting for UCL to sort this out, maybe reconfiguring their entire network, you can browse his publications here. (I’m now feeling intellectually inadequate, again.) That’s a very generous offer from Gabe so I’d make the most of it while you can!

Edited to add: Another generous offer – which I forgot to mention, sleep, lack of, stupidity etc – UCL has Alice Stevenson’s book The Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, Characters and Collections on open access. You can download a pdf version here.

Staying with the theme of publications, it’s November, Jon has finished his PhD and as promised he’s going to be in charge of collating member’s publications so remember to send him information about your past, present and upcoming work. Now let’s go back a step or two – Jon has finished his PhD! Let’s all have a moment (or 10) of celebration for him. I haven’t actually seen him since he finished but I imagine he’s looking even happier than this

WP_20150902_13_43_45_Pro

Hoorah for finishing! Hoorah for Jon! Hoorah, hoorah, hoorah!

And on that note, have a great weekend – I need to make that man a celebratory cake so I guess that’s my weekend sorted.

Julia

PS. Yeah, yeah, I hear you – where’s the review of Creating Prehistory? Have I mentioned the lack of sleep? Do you know how lucky you are to have something this coherent? Next week, hopefully she’ll let me sleep next week and I’ll be reunited with my brain.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Monica Barnes permalink
    November 5, 2015 9:59 pm

    I’d like to remind HARN members that there are two very useful and respectable sites where one can post one’s publications for free (assuming there are no copyright problems involved in doing so). These are academia.edu and researchgate.org. I use them both and am relatively happy with them. Apparently both appear very high in Google searches. The sites electronically “date stamp” postings, providing another defense against plagiarism.

    • harngroup permalink*
      November 6, 2015 9:29 am

      Good point Monica, the problem is what to do about entire books – can they be posted? I would have thought the publishers wouldn’t be too happy about that, it must be harder to sell books if they can be downloaded free of charge. Although UCL has done just that with Alice Stevenson’s book about the Petrie Museum, oh, I meant to mention that in the post too. Off to edit!
      Julia

      • Monica Barnes permalink
        November 6, 2015 11:20 am

        That’s why I wrote “assuming there are no copyright problems”. Penn State University Press is also allowing people to put their books on-line rather quickly after publication. Some people post the tables of contents of their books with a note that individuals who want a chapter can obtain it by requesting it directly from the author(s).

        There is sometimes conflict between grant-makers’ requirements that research results be made freely available to the public within one to five years and publishers’ economic need to at least recoup editorial and production expenses. I think it is possible that the public access requirement will kill vetted, edited, and well-produced academic publications that are needed for the orderly and reliable dissemination of knowledge. That, in turn, will make it impossible to have the peer-reviewed articles in indexed journals that one needs for academic hiring, tenure, and promotion. As an alternate assessment of scholarly importance, the academic sharing sites have developed their own analytics which are (in the case of researchgate.net) a combination of the number of articles shared, the prestige of the journals in which they are published, and the number of hits and downloads the articles get.

        Monica

  2. Sudeshna Guha permalink
    November 6, 2015 10:08 am

    Dear Julia Many thanks for the mention of my book. I hope there might be readers from among the members!! Best Sudeshna

Leave a Reply

