Skip to content

The Flying Archaeologist and The Human Adventure

January 21, 2016

That’s my coffee break taken care of tomorrow then – film time!

Adventures in History and Archaeology

As most of my blog posts have been, recently, this one is tangential to my research, but an interesting find I wanted to share.  You may remember from an earlier post, James Breasted’s home on University Avenue is derelict and awaiting action.  It is in that state because it belonged to Phi Gamma Delta fraternity at the University of Chicago (a dubious distinction).  I wasn’t sure why it had been bought by the Fijis, as they’ve become known, but there may be a clue or two.  It turns out, as I found in this article, Breasted’s son and protégé, Charles, was a Fiji at Chicago in the late 1910s.  He even threw his fraternity pin into Lake Michigan, announcing he was done with Greek life.  He may have worked with the University to purchase the house.  This is just a guess on my part and I have no…

View original post 904 more words

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

