Skip to content

Tea With the Sphinx, day 1

September 23, 2016

If you’ve seen HARN’s twitter feed you’ll know I’ve been having an excellent day at this conference, and not just me, there’s been a veritable storm of tweets as we’ve enjoyed all manner of wonderful papers and presentations.

I very nearly didn’t make it in time for Chris Naunton’s keynote speech. I managed to combine my usual anti-talent for map reading with oversleeping. It didn’t help that somewhere in my brain I was sure I knew my way around the campus, I have never been here before there is no reason why I should be able to find my way around. I can only think I was assuming that since my parents were students here back in the 50s I’d have some sort of folk memory of the place, but no. That aside, can I just say the University of Birmingham is beautiful? I had no idea (y’know, what with never having been here before!) but it’s truly lovely, very leafy and in the sunlight the red bricks look particularly fine

wp_20160923_18_18_48_pro

The Clocktower, aka Old Joe – beautiful but that clock chimes all night.

wp_20160923_18_12_52_pro

From another angle with the sun on brick

The conference venue – the Lapworth Museum of Geology – was also beautiful, it’s been recently refurbished and looks very swish

wp_20160923_18_12_29_pro

I have pages and pages of notes from the day and I will blog them, but I’m too tired right now, so instead I’ll leave you with these images

wp_20160923_14_57_20_pro

Every conference needs themed cakes made by Nichola Tonks 

wp_20160923_18_09_58_pro

She does nail art too.

 

wp_20160923_18_10_14_pro

Teeny weeny Eye of Horus

There was a moment of utter nostalgia and the burning memory of desperately coveting my sister’s secret cat diary

wp_20160923_16_30_22_pro-2

It has been a brilliant day and I am very much looking forward to tomorrow. Look out for tweets

Julia

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

