Skip to content

Cake makes everything better

September 29, 2017

Today is Macmillan’s World’s Biggest Coffee Morning and I should be out eating cake and raising money for this brilliant organisation. Due to various ongoing problems in this turret of HARN Towers, this isn’t going to happen. This is particularly sad for me because although I love baking cakes, I really love eating cake too. However, for those of us who can’t join in I have a visual – and archaeological, no less – treat for you care of my new favourite blog site Res Gereande –  a gingerbread Viking hall. If all of archaeology was represented through cake I reckon we’d be overrun with students and volunteers, in fact, maybe this is the way we should go and for our next HARN conference we should ask for baked goods representing various historical figures and sites.

What do you reckon?

dsc_0052

Viking Hall – copyright Philip Boyes Res Gerendae

Have a great weekend, make and/or eat cake, it makes everything better, truly!

Julia

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathleen Sheppard permalink
    September 29, 2017 2:30 pm

    I had a pyramid baking kit once. It failed miserably to make a pyramid, but tasted really good. It had palm trees and camels and everything. I AGREE that we should have a Cake conference. “Piece of Cake: History of Archaeology in Cake” And maybe we could partner with GBBO to do an episode?

    • harngroup permalink*
      October 2, 2017 9:38 am

      I replied to this but my comment vanished, just to say I was really envious of the pyramid baking kit even if it failed. I then went in search of one on-line and found a whole slew of suggestions, youtube videos and pinterest ’41 best pyramid cake images’ – there’s a whole world (of cake based madness) out there that I knew nothing about 🙂

  2. September 30, 2017 2:40 pm

    I thought his Phaistos Discuits are clever, too. https://crewsproject.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/phaistos-discuits/

  3. harngroup permalink*
    October 2, 2017 9:35 am

    So, as ever we’re late to the, archaeology cake, party! But has anyone held an archaeology cake conference? I think we should establish ourselves at the forefront of the archaeology cake conference circuit 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. HARN 2017 – your questions answered | HARN Weblog

Leave a comment